SC Golf Cart Laws – Low-Speed Vehicles
When it comes to golf cart insurance, states have different laws. If you operate a golf cart on public roads in South Carolina, you must comply with the state’s low-speed vehicle laws. These rules include:
- Only driving on roadways with posted speed limits of 35 mph or less.
- You may only drive a golf cart within 4 miles of your home, business, or the entrance of gated community during daylight hours.
- Drivers must be licensed motorists 16 years of age or older.
- Owners must apply for a $5 permit from the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, which they must renew every five years.
SC Golf Cart Registration
To register your cart, you must pay the $5 permit fee, complete the Golf Cart Permit Registration form, present a valid driver’s license, and show proof of ownership liability insurance coverage. Owners must renew registration every five years or when they move.
Most insurance companies offer golf cart insurance under their motorcycle insurance policies, as the two of them are very similar, along with all-terrain vehicles (ATVs). Here are some other types of golf cart insurance you can purchase, depending on your provider:
Cheap SC Golf Cart Insurance
To register and drive a golf cart in South Carolina, you must present proof of liability insurance. Depending on the type of vehicle you own and its primary use, you might be able to add the golf cart as a rider on your current homeowners’ policy. If you frequently drive your cart around the neighborhood or beyond, you might need to purchase a separate auto policy that covers low-speed vehicles. Either way, adding golf cart coverage is affordable, especially when bundled with your existing policies.
Golf Cart Insurance Coverage Types
Golf cart insurance policies offer many of the same types of coverage as auto policies:
- Bodily injury and property damage liability: This coverage is mandatory in South Carolina and covers any injuries and property damage you cause to others while operating your golf cart.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorists: This coverage pays for damage to your cart caused by an uninsured or underinsured driver.
- Medical payments coverage: This coverage goes toward the medical bills of the driver or passengers injured in an accident, regardless of which party is deemed at-fault.
- Comprehensive and collision: If you cause an accident, the collision coverage helps you pay for the cost of repairing or replacing your cart. Comprehensive coverage covers you for incidents that occur when you’re not driving – like theft, damage from a falling tree, or the neighborhood vandals.
To request a free quote on golf cart insurance in South Carolina, call Upside Insurance Greenville!
ATV Laws South Carolina
Though many insurers lump All-Terrain Vehicles (ATVs) in the same category as golf carts, South Carolina has separate laws that govern the use of these vehicles. According to the state code, ATV owners and drivers must comply with several regulations, summarized here.
South Carolina ATV Insurance
The state of South Carolina does not require owners of four-wheelers to carry insurance. While many people think that their homeowners’ policy includes coverage for ATVs, most only offer limited coverage. Check with your agent to see what coverage you currently have and considering adding ATV insurance if you ride on trails or roads outside of your property. Driving your ATV without insurance could expose you to significant financial risk if you’re involved in an accident or collide with another driver.
Types of ATV Insurance Coverage
ATV coverage options resemble those available with golf cart or auto insurance. Insurers will consider how you use your ATV when determining your coverage and rates.
- Liability coverage: Liability insurance pays for injuries you cause to other drivers or property while operating your ATV.
- Collision coverage: This coverage pays to repair damages if your ATV sustains harm in an accident you cause.
- Comprehensive coverage: This coverage pays for damage from something other than a collision, for instance, fire or weather-related damage.
- Medical payments: If you or a passenger is injured while operating your ATV, this coverage kicks in to pay for medical expenses.
- Underinsured and uninsured motorist: This insurance pays for damages if another driver or ATV operator causes an accident but doesn’t have adequate liability insurance.
Even though you’re not required to have insurance, it still might be a good idea in case of damage, theft, or injury to yourself or others. To request a free ATV insurance quote, contact Upside Insurance!